Nigeria's Minister of Petroleum Emmanuel Ibe Kachikwu 
President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed a new board for the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation, NNPC.
Dr. Ibe Kachikwu has been removed as the group managing director and he is replaced by Dr. Kacalla Baru. Kachikwu is now the chairman of the board of the state-owned oil corporation.
Presidential spokesman, Femi Adesina announced this in a statement on Monday, July 4, 2016. He said that the new board is composed of the following persons.
Until his appointment, Dr. Baru was the group executive director for exploration and production of the NNPC. He is a graduate of the Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria and holds a bachelor of science degree in engineering. He holds a Ph.D. in mechanical engineering.
Baru has been the chairman of NNPC Anti-corruption Committee constituted by the former petroleum minister, Diezani Alison-Maduekwe since September 2004 till his appointment Monday.
A. Chairman – Dr. Emmanuel Ibe Kachikwu, Honourable Minister of State for Petroleum;
B. Group Managing Director – Dr. Maikanti Kacalla Baru;
C. The Permanent Secretary of the Federal Ministry of Finance; and
D. The following six persons:
1. Mallam Abba Kyari
2. Dr. Thomas M.A John
3. Dr. Pius O. Akinyelure
4. Dr. Tajuddeen Umar
5. Mallam Mohammed Lawal, and
6. Mallam Yusuf Lawal.
President Buhari urges the new board to ensure the successful delivery of the mandate of the NNPC, “and serve the nation by upholding the public trust placed on them in managing this critical national asset.”
Share To:



0 comments so far,add yours