From Chidi Nnadi and George Onyejiuwa, Owerri
The Igbo yesterday re-examined themselves and resolved to think home so as to develop the Igbo nation.
Igbo leaders who gathered in Owerri, Imo State capital to take this decision reasoned that the state of the nation today makes it imperative for the people to look inwards to build Igboland.

The apex Igbo socio-cultural organisation, Ohanaeze Ndigbo made this possible as it called out the government and traditional institutions of the South-East states to a think-tank in Owerri tagged Igbo Unity Forum.
The President General of Ohanaeze Ndigbo in his welcome speech said the Igbo group has been striving to be the mouth-piece of the people of the region without success. He was, therefore, excited that they had succeed in closing ranks in order to move the race forward.

“We have never had it like this in coming together to proffer solutions to Igbo problems,” Igariwey said.
He noted that the Igbo are very adventurous and great achievers, pointing out that the Igbo contributed over 30 per cent of the development of Lagos and have helped in developing Abuja too.
The president general of Ohanaeze therefore, called on the Igbo to now think home to replicate those things they have done in Lagos and Abuja in Igboland.

Also, former governor of old Anambra State who was the chairman of the occasion, Senator  Jim Nwobodo, called on successful businessmen of Igbo extraction to start investing at home in order to create employment opportunities for Igbo youths.

Similarly, Prof. Anya O. Anya who was the guest lecturer at the occasion called on Ndigbo to rise up, saying that the time has come for them to re-recover themselves if they must survive in the current precarious times in the country.
Igbo leaders who attended the event are: Abia State Governor, Dr. Okezie Ikpeazu, Deputy Governor of Enugu State, Mrs. Cecilia Ezilo, Imo State Governor, Rochas Okorocha, Imo State Deputy Governor, Prince Eze Madumere, former Chief of General Staff, Ebitu Ukiwe, Rear Admiral Allison Madueke.
Others are Prof. Anya O. Anya, former chairman of Police Service Commission, Chief Simeon Okeke, MTN and Diamond Bank Chairman, Chief Pascal Dozie, President General  of Ohanaeze, Chief Gary Enwo- Igariwey, former Anambra governor, Dr. Chukwuemeka Ezeife,  Chief Jim Nwobodo, Amb. George Obizor, Col. Joe Achuzie and many traditional rulers from the South East, among others.
Share To:



0 comments so far,add yours